Ben Reese series

The Ben Reese mysteries are about a university archivist who’d been a World War II Scout and who uses those skills to investigate murder in the early sixties. I started writing the Ben Reese books after I’d badgered an archivist I knew into telling me what he’d done in the war. The contrast between what that was, and what he did when I knew him, made me want to create a fictional character with those internal contrasts.

In published order, the series is:

Publish and Perish
Pride and Predator
Pursuit and Persuasion
Out of the Ruins
Watches of the Night
Code of Silence